The Truth About my Story

By Kathryn M. (Junior)

Prologue:

“W-wait for me Jas!” I try to yell but I’m out of breath due to chasing after my boyfriend. When I finally catch up to him, he is looking over the pier with a glaze in his eyes.

“Oh, hello Luc,” he says with his eyes still focused on the water as if something could jump out of it any second now. “I thought I lost you a mile back.” I know he is only joking but the comment still hurts me. When he turns to face me, my breath seems to fail me again. His face shows pain; pain I’ve only seen in my dreams.

“J-Jason, w-what’s wrong?” I try to say in a clear sentence, but I can’t seem to find the words. “You look like you have just seen a ghost.” I try my best to say it with a light tone, but also add concern into it as well, knowing what we just encountered was, or perhaps is, a ghost.

“Stay away from me sweet heart, I don’t want to hurt you. It’s inside me. Just please, go get Toby, he will know what to do,” he says in the calmest voice I’ve ever heard. Little did I know as I ran off to go get our trainer, those would be his last words to me. Well… at least for four years.

Chapter One: April 18, 2016

Today is the day that I have come to despise over the past four years. On this day four years ago, my boyfriend Jason disappeared. Everyone else says that he jumped into the water and committed suicide, but they never did find the body. I, on the other hand, know that Jas is not dead.

Before I get too far ahead of myself, hi, my name is Lucy, Lucy Stine. I am what some people might call a physic, but my trainer and I like to go by the more technical term: a seer.  My mother would always tell me when she tucked me in at night that I had a gift. Maybe by gift, she meant curse. While most people had good dreams and bad ones, I had good visions and bad ones.

Each time I would close my eyes for a nap or to sleep for the night, I could see my mom’s past and everyone else’s before she came into the world. At least that is how it started. As I got older, I could also see the future, not so much mine, but the future in general. Sadly, the future that I saw was not like most like ten year-old’s thought. It was dark, scary, sad, and everything terrible in between. Don’t get me wrong, I did see some amazing things in the future. I caught a glimpse of my color scheme for my wedding (sadly not the man I would marry). All that aside, being a seer takes a lot of training. That is where Toby comes in, but I will talk about him later. It is time for me to stop fighting the warmth and safety of my bed and do what I have been avoiding for four years; cleaning out Jason’s belongings and continue living my life.

Chapter Two: The Box

I slowly get out of bed and throw on one of his shirts and let out a sigh.

“Oh Jas, I wish you were still here.” I whisper into the silence, knowing that there will be no reply.

As I go into the kitchen to warm up some water, I have a flashback. Jas has his arms around my stomach and is kissing my neck while I make his favorite breakfast: scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits, and waffles. He keeps on begging me to come back to bed, that he is bored and wants to go back to sleep. I am brought back to reality by the whistle of the tea kettle letting me know that the water is ready for my apple cider. While I lounge with my drink, I turn on the morning news. Anything but what I actually need to get done. I take a deep breath, reluctantly turn off the T.V. and go into my room and look at his dresser drawers. I try to hold back the tears but fail miserably. I can’t help but think about all the good and bad times we had together, all the laughter and all the tears.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

